EPIC Freedom Awards to Allen, Amash, The Guardian, Snowden

EPIC Freedom Awards to Allen, Amash, The Guardian, Snowden

On June 2 the Electronic Privacy Information Center will celebrate 20
years of privacy advocacy with the 2014 EPIC Champions of Freedom

Established in 1994, EPIC was created to focus public attention on
emerging privacy issues. EPIC maintains two of the most popular privacy
websites in the world – epic.org and privacy.org – and pursues policy
research, litigation, public education, and advocacy. EPIC’s Advisory
Board includes leading experts in law, technology and public policy.

EPIC established the Champion of Freedom Awards to recognize
individuals and organizations that safeguard the right to privacy with
courage and integrity. Internationally renowned security technologist
Bruce Schneier will host the 2014 EPIC celebration.

EPIC will honor University of Pennsylvania Law Professor Anita L.
Allen for her work as the nation’s leading privacy law scholar. A
longtime EPIC Advisory Board member, Professor Allen has helped shape
the modern understanding of the right to privacy.

EPIC will honor Congressman Justin Amash (R-MI) for his campaign to
defund the NSA’s telephone record collection program.

EPIC will recognize The Guardian newspaper for publishing documents
obtained by Edward Snowden that provided the basis for EPIC’s petition
to the US Supreme Court to end the bulk collection of Americans’
telephone records.

Edward Snowden will also receive an award from EPIC for disclosing the
secret court that documented the unlawful surveillance of Americans and
for transforming the debate about privacy protection.

“EPIC is honored to recognize these Champions of Freedom who have
worked to safeguard privacy, some at great personal risk,” said Marc
Rotenberg, EPIC’s President and Executive Director.

Previous recipients of the Champion of Freedom Award include Senators
Rand Paul (R-KY) and Ron Wyden (D-OR), and journalist Martha Mendoza
(2013); Senator Al Franken (D-MN), Judge Alex Kozinski of the 9th
Circuit, and journalists Dana Priest and William Arkin (2012);
Representatives Jason Chaffetz (R-UT) and Rush Holt (D-NJ), former
Miss USA Susie Castillo, and the Wall Street Journal (2011);
Representative Joe Barton (R-TX), former FTC Commissioner Pamela
Jones Harbour, and the Rose Foundation (2010); Senator Ed Markey
(D-MA), director D.J. Caruso, philanthropist Addison Fischer, and
attorney Paul M. Smith (2009); and Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT) (2004).

EPIC has previously presented the Lifetime Achievement award to David
Flaherty (2013), Whitfield Diffie (2012), and Willis Ware (2012).


About Educational CyberPlayGround, Inc.®

Educational CyberPlayGround, Inc. strives to help Teachers, Parents, and Policy Makers Learn about: Music, Teaching, Internet, Technology, Literacy, Arts and Linguistics in the K12 classroom.
This entry was posted in NetHappenings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.